Popular classics

Winter 2019 Concert

The Winter 2019 concert will place on Saturday, 9 February 2019, 7.30pm, at the Ruddock Performing Arts Centre.

Brahms: Double concerto in A minor, Opus 102, for Violin and Cello with Michael Bochmann (violin) and Peter Adams (cello)
Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite number 1, Opus 46
Dvořák Symphony number 8 in G major, Opus 88

Conductor: Jon Hargreaves

South Birmingham Sinfonia gives you a feast of much-loved romantic classics (if that is not a contradiction in terms:) in their Febrary 2019 concert.

SBS are particularly fortunate to have soloists Michael Bochmann (violin) and Peter Adams (cello) for the performance of the Brahms Double concerto.

Grieg's Peer Gynt Suite number 1 hardly needs any introduction, the music being better known than anything that could be written about it. Suffice it to say that this is the suite that starts with "Morning" and ends with "The Hall of the Mountain King", perhaps the very best-known music by Grieg out of all of his works.

And the concert ends with Dvořák's most sunny and colourful symphony, written in Prague in 1889 and based on Czech folk styles, the eighth in G Major.

Tickets will available from the Ruddock Centre closer to the event.